Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Jim Piggott is being honoured for both his role in building the Saskatoon Blades and the Western Canada Hockey League, now known as the WHL.

Piggott was the sole owner of the Blades and an original founding member of the League. He also owned teams in the old professional Western Hockey League in such places as Los Angeles, Saskatoon, Regina, Brandon and Minneapolis-St. Paul.

Piggott served as Chairman of the Board, and along with Del Wilson was one of the driving forces to bring the three Major Junior Leagues in Canada together under one roof.

2014 WHL Rookie of the Year
Photo by Brad Watson
Nick Merkley, Kelowna Rockets

Rookie of the Year Winners:
2013-14 Nick Merkley, Kelowna
2012-13 Seth Jones, Portland
2011-12 Sam Reinhart, Kootenay
2010-11 Mathew Dumba, Red Deer
2009-10 Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Red Deer
2008-09 Brett Connolly, Prince George*
2007-08 Brayden Schenn, Brandon
2006-07 Kyle Beach, Everett
2005-06 Peter Mueller, Everett
2004-05 Tyler Plante, Brandon
2003-04 Gilbert Brule, Vancouver
2002-03 Matt Ellison, Red Deer*
2001-02 Braydon Coburn, Portland
2000-01 Scottie Upshall, Kamloops*
1999-00 Dan Blackburn, Kootenay
1998-99 Pavel Brendl, Calgary *
1997-98 Marian Hossa, Portland
1996-97 Donovan Nunweiler, Moose Jaw
1995-96 Chris Phillips, Prince Albert
1994-95 Todd Robinson, Portland
1993-94 Wade Redden, Brandon
1992-93 Jeff Friesen, Regina*
1991-92 Ashley Buckberger, Swift Current
1991-91 Donevan Hextall, Prince Albert
1989-90 Petr Nedved, Seattle*
1988-89 Wes Walz, Lethbridge
1987-88 Stu Barnes, New Westminster
1986-87 W Dennis Holland, Portland
              E Joe Sakic, Swift Current
1985-86 W Ron Shudra, Kamloops (Tie)
              W Dave Waldie, Portland (Tie)
              E Neil Brady, Medicine Hat
1984-85 Mark Mackay, Moose Jaw
1983-84 Cliff Ronning, New Westminster
1982-83 Dan Hodgson, Prince Albert
1981-82 Dale Derkatch, Regina
1980-81 Dave Michayluk, Regina
1979-80 Grant Fuhr, Victoria
1978-79 Kelly Kisio, Calgary
1977-78 Keith Brown, Portland (Tie)
             John Ogrodnick, New Westminster (Tie)
1976-77 Brian Propp, Brandon
1975-76 Steve Tambellini, Lethbridge
1974-75 Don Murdoch, Medicine Hat
1973-74 Cam Connor, Flin Flon
1972-73 Rick Blight, Brandon
1971-72 Dennis Sobchuk, Regina
1970-71 Stan Weir, Medicine Hat
1969-70 Gene Carr, Flin Flon
1968-69 Ron Williams, Edmonton
1967-68 Ron Fairbrother, Saskatoon
1966-67 Ron Garwasiuk, Regina

* Also selected as the CHL Rookie of the Year


Schedule & Results
Schedule & Results
Schedule & Results

Schedule & Results

September 19 / 2014


Timezone: PT | MT | CT | HOME TEAM


WHL Fan Zone


Fan Poll

Which Division will produce the 2014-15 WHL Champion?